The Book of Awesome: Snow Days, Bakery Air, Finding Money in Your Pocket, and Other Simple, Brilliant Things

On a down day, I like to pick up the Book of Awesome by Neil Pasricha and remind myself of the many things in life to smile about. Pasricha’s writing style is quirky, light and makes your appreciate: the other side of the pillow, solving the Wheel of Fortune puzzle before the people on the show, the smell of the coffee aisle in the grocery store and much more! Although most people can relate to many of the awesome things, Pasricha encourages his readers to be conscious of all the awesomeness around and to even create their own list. He often features readers’ own awesome lists on his blog http://1000awesomethings.com/. I suggest checking out his website to get a taste of what the book is about. Many of the entries in the book are taken straight from the blog. I almost enjoy the material better in blog format. In the book, each ‘awesome’ thing reads like a blog entry, and the same standard entry gets repeated over and over for each thing. I know I’ll have people disagree with me, but I find it can get kind of dull. I sometimes found myself skipping over Pasricha’s comments and just reading the headlines of each ‘awesome’ thing.  However, I really enjoy visiting his blog every morning to read one short blog entry for me to smile about. It makes me keep coming back for more.

Overall, I still think the Book of Awesome is awesome. I just think it’s best for coffee tables or bathroom reading when the reader has a couple minutes to giggle, smile and nod their head in agreement. We all need a little more happiness in our lives, and The Book of Awesome delivers.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brynna
    Aug 05, 2010 @ 21:56:18

    Love this book! I’m going to read some of the awesomeness now!

    Reply

  2. fall7times
    Aug 08, 2010 @ 21:52:24

    You should blog about your own 100 most awesome feelings!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 32,209 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 138 other followers

Goodreads

Check out my books on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/3608158-brie
