Quel Dommage! My Review of Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging

Lately, I’ve been re-reading all the books I read as a teen to understand what aspects I enjoyed in them.  I loved reading your responses on your favourite teen books, and can’t wait to read them too! I have a huge list of ‘TO READS’, but I’ll get to them.  Before I get to those, I’ve been promising some reviews of brand new books. Look for them very soon!

Today’s review is on a book that is already over 10 years old, but maintains popularity for teen girls.  I recently came across Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging (1999) by Louise Rennison in the teen section of my local library and instantly recognized the cover. I knew I read it, but I couldn’t remember the story. After re-reading the book ten years later, I now know why.  Sure, there are funny moments, but overall the book is really fluffy!

Often described as the young adult version of Bridget Jones Diary, the book is written in diary format by the British self-obsessed teen, Georgia.   Here is a book summary from Goodreads:

She has a precocious 3-year-old sister who tends to leave wet nappies at the foot of her bed, an insane cat who is prone to leg-shredding “Call of the Wild” episodes, and embarrassing parents who make her want to escape to Stonehenge and dance with the Druids. No wonder 14-year-old Georgia Nicolson laments, “Honestly, what is the point?” A Bridget Jones for the younger set, Georgia records the momentous events of her life–and they are all momentous–in her diary, which serves as a truly hilarious account of what it means to be a modern girl on the cusp of womanhood.

Hilarious? Well… sure, it’s definately one of my positive comments about the book.

🙂 Funny. Here is a sample of the Rennison’s writing:

          Angus: I should have guessed all was not entirely well in the cat department when I picked him up and he began savaging my cardigan.

        Thongs: What is the point of them? They just go up your bum, as far as I can tell.

       Full-Frontal Snogging: Kissing with all the trimmings, lip to lip, open mouth, tongues … everything.   (Apart from dribble, which is never acceptable.)

🙂 Delightful Englishness. A lot of British slang is used in the book.  However, some readers may find it annoying to constantly refer to the glossary and the end of the book to explain the meaning of British terms used. I think the glossary in itself is hilarious and worth a read!

Now for the bad…

😦 Not the best role model for young girls. For 14 years old, Georgia gets away with a lot. At her age, she knows a little too much about guys, snogging (kissing) and other sexual behaviours.  Georgia even describes the sexual ‘bases’.  It’s probably why  (in addition to referencing lesbianism, groping encounters and disrespecting her parents) the book is on the list of the most commonly challenged books in the United States.

😦 The random annoying words and phrases thrown in. Too much space was taken up with silly noises like ‘LALALALALA’. Georgia also adds in random French words (which would be fine if they weren’t the same ones used over and over again —Quel Dommage!)

😦 Geogia’s character- I know most teens are self-absorbed, but this goes beyond a tolerable level of narcissism. She is constantly fussing about her eyebrows, her lips, her nose, etc.  She seems to be completely about looks, totally shallow and without any ambitions or dreams.  Her character feels under-developed and I can’t image that anyone could relate to her. From the beginning to the end, Georgia didn’t resolve anything or have any real growth –besides now being the girlfriend of a Sex-God (insert a very sarcastic OMG!!! Here).

Overall, I would rate Angus, Thongs and Full Frontal Snogging 3 out of 5. I won’t be reading the rest of the series (10 books in total) as there are far better books on the market for teens. A funny but forgettable read.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emily and Her Little Pink Notes
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 11:26:09

    I loved this one as a teen, it’ silly but honest in so many ways. I don’t see how it could harm anybody, sexual references are there but I didn’t find them unappropriate…this is the first of a series, Georgia does develop in the next nine books 🙂

    Reply

    • booksintransit
      Aug 29, 2010 @ 15:22:12

      Thanks for your comment! I knew I would have readers disagree with me, as it is a fav of many teens. I’m happy to hear that Georgia’s character is further developed in the rest of the series. Does the series also explain why she has an intense hatred for her father? I’m still puzzled on that one…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 32,209 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 138 other followers

Goodreads

Check out my books on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/3608158-brie
