Best Winter Songs for Storytime

While preparing for storytime, I came across these great winter songs. They all share familiar tunes, and would be easy to teach your little ones!  I can’t wait to teach my pre-school class! Happy Holidays!

I’M A LITTLE SNOWMAN (tune:  I’m a little teapot)
I’m a little snowman
Short and fat
Here are my buttons
Here is my hat
When the sun comes out
I cannot stay
Slowly I just melt away.

THE SNOWKEY POKEY

 You put your right mitten in, you take your right mitten out, you put your right mitten in and you shake it all about. You do the snowkey pokey and you turn yourself around. That’s what it’s all about.     (more: left mitten, right boot, left boot, hat, snowsuit)

SNOW IS FALLING ALL AROUND  Tune: Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star”
Snow is falling all around,
Falling, falling, to the ground.
I catch snowflakes on my tongue.
Building snowmen is such fun.
Snow is falling all around, Falling, falling, to the ground.

  I LOVE SNOW  (Three Blind Mice)
          I love snow. I love snow.
          Soft, white snow; soft, white snow.
          It falls on the ground so soft and white.
          Sometime it falls all through the night.
          Did you ever see such a beautiful sight
          As soft white snow?

DANCE LIKE SNOWFLAKES (sung to the tune of Frere Jacques)
Dance like snowflakes,
Dance like snowflakes,
In the air.
In the air.

Whirling, twirling, snowflakes,
Whirling, twirling, snowflakes,

Here and there.
Here and there

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristina
    Dec 15, 2010 @ 02:20:07

    Super cute! I am definitely going to try the Snowkey Pokey and Little Snowman songs out with my nephew and the jks I work with 🙂

    Reply

  2. Lindsey
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 20:06:17

    Thanks for the song suggestions. We’re starting a winter story time at our church and these will be super cute!

    Lindsey @ GrowingKidsMinistry.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 32,027 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 138 other followers

Goodreads

Check out my books on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/3608158-brie
