Book Review- Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

 From Goodreads:

A mysterious island.

An abandoned orphanage.

A strange collection of very curious photographs.

It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

I picked up Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children for several reasons. First, the title alone is intriguing. Paired with vintage photos and an endorsement by one of my favourite YA authors, John Green, I had high expectations.

Well, I must admit that I was severely let down. I have about 20% left and I just can’t finish the book. For weeks, I carried it around with me and tried reading it whenever I could.  It started off amazing. It captured my attention and I thought the premise was very imaginative and clever. It follows 16-year-old Jacob as he sets out on a quest to better understand whether his deceased grandfather’s stories were fact or fiction. It also has the most intriguing creepy vintage photographs throughout. However, I think that Riggs laid all the photos out and tried to create a story based on the photos. In my opinion, it didn’t work because the photos came first and the story second. Sometimes the photos felt out of place and didn’t really add anything to the story.

Other aspects I didn’t like:

-although the book is classified as a Young Adult book, it definitely reads younger.

-super creepy romance between Jacob and Emma

-not enough information about the children’s peculiar abilities. Would have enjoyed to read more about them.

-predictable storyline. Although I didn’t finish the book, I quickly read reviews with spoilers and wasn’t surprised to find out the outcome of the highly predictable ‘mystery’.

It’s no secret that I haven’ t been super impressed with my picks lately. Any recommendations?

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 32,212 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 138 other followers

Goodreads

Check out my books on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/3608158-brie
