Review: Before I go to Sleep by S.J Watson

‘As I sleep, my mind will erase everything I did today. I will wake up tomorrow as I did this morning. Thinking I’m still a child. Thinking I have a whole lifetime of choice ahead of me …’ Memories define us. So what if you lost yours every time you went to sleep? Your name, your identity, your past, even the people you love – all forgotten overnight. And the one person you trust may only be telling you half the story. Welcome to Christine’s life.

When I saw this massively hyped book at my library’s book sale for $1 I immediately scooped it up.  The last ‘adult’ book I read was The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks last year so it was a nice change.  This book has been called a sinister version of ’50 First Dates’ and I have to agree.

I couldn’t imagine experiencing the psychological terror of waking up and not knowing where and who you are.  I found Christine’s emotions to be authentic as she constantly experiences confusion, terror, and sadness.  She records such emotions as well as the new facts she learns on a daily basis in her journal that she hides from her husband.  By doing so, Christine quickly picks up on inconsistencies and questions begin to arise.  Who can Christine truly trust?

Although there were a couple of issues that bothered me—especially the details surrounding the final reveal, I did enjoy the constant suspense.  There were many twists and turns and I was truly surprised by the ending.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Novel Girl
    May 12, 2012 @ 14:35:13

    Okay — major weird moment. I’m reading “The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks” at the moment and I read “Before I Go To Sleep” last year. I’m loving the former book, but BIGTS unfortunately didn’t live up to the hype for me. It was a good read but only 4/5. It got a bit annoying with the repetitiveness and the ending was a bit predictable.

    If you feel like chatting about thrillers (psychological or any sub-genre), I just blogged about them and created a poll where you can submit your opinions!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 32,209 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 138 other followers

Goodreads

Check out my books on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/3608158-brie
