Review- You Are My Only by Beth Kephart

                     You Are My Only

Emmy Rane is married at nineteen, a mother by twenty. Trapped in a life with a husband she no longer loves, Baby is her only joy. Then one sunny day in September, Emmy takes a few fateful steps away from her baby and returns to find her missing. All that is left behind is a yellow sock.

Fourteen years later, Sophie, a homeschooled, reclusive teenage girl is forced to move frequently and abruptly from place to place, perpetually running from what her mother calls the “No Good.” One afternoon, Sophie breaks the rules, ventures out, and meets Joey and his two aunts. It is this loving family that gives Sophie the courage to look into her past. What she discovers changes her world forever. . .

Bummer. This book did nothing for me.  It was not what I expected after reading the description on the book jacket. It could have been a wonderful interesting story, but I think the writing style really turned me off.  It was jerky, confusing and trying way too hard to be poetic. Many times, I found myself skimming through the slow moving book (thank goodness it was short or else I wouldn’t have finished).  The story doesn’t even pick up till the every end. Overall, I didn’t connect to the book and I doubt I’ll be reading anything from Kephart again.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 32,027 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 138 other followers

Goodreads

Check out my books on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/3608158-brie
